Skip to content

Meet KL Dierking and learn about her new book for kids!

August 26, 2015

Today I am privileged to interview my fellow author, KL Dierking. Please enjoy our visit!

 KL DierkingTHUMBNAIL_IMAGE

Welcome to my blog today. Why don’t you start by telling us something about yourself!

I am KL Dierking (Katrina). I reside in central North Carolina with my husband and 4 children ages 19,18,16 and 3. Writing is my passion along with encouraging women who have suffered and survived sexual abuse, dealing with the other side of sexual abuse (PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts/tendencies) as well as educating women on the signs and how to keep their children safe from abuse.

I was sexually abused by the man who adopted me at the age of 4. He sexually and physically abused me for the next 12 years. I spent many years afterwards abusing myself and feeling as if I was unworthy of love. I was self-destructive and angry. Only by the grace and mercy of God was I able to turn my life around and change my future.

I have spent my entire adult life in the medical field holding several degrees and certifications including Firefighter I/II and EMT-Paramedic. I recently chose to leave the medical field to come home to work and raise my 3 year old the way I believe God intended for our family.

I also have an online homeschool and educational resource company called Mr. Row’s Adventures. Mr. Row is a stuffed monkey who travels around the world staying with host homeschooling families. The families take Mr. Row on educational field trips in their area and in turn, I create educational supplies and materials for the families to use in their homeschooling classroom.

I am impressed! I also minister to women who have been abused, and I also homeschooled my two youngest children through high school! I appreciate how much work you have done, and how hard your journey to healing is. I admire you for your professional service and thank you for it.

 

Now let’s talk about your writing, something else we have in common!

What is your genre of choice?

My genre of choice is Inspirational Fiction. I have written two novels but recently decided to write my first young readers chapter book.

What are you working on now? I hear you have a new book! Please give us a short synopsis.

Well, like most authors, I am working on several projects at once. I will give a short synopsis of each.

(Young Readers ages 8-12) The Lemonade Brigade (Vol 2 of the Philippian 4:13 Series). Philippian is an odd young man. He’s always the last one picked, the first one to be picked on, and the outcast of middle school. However, being born on April 13, his parents named him Philippian to remind him that he could do all things through Christ who gives him strength.

Philippian and his friends Michael and Izzy (all rising 7th graders) set up a lemonade stand as the headquarters for their crime fighting business for the summer. As the team takes on new cases, Philippian feels led to befriend the foreman of the construction site where their headquarters is located. It is the first time he has experienced God’s direct leading and fears sharing that information with his new friends for fear they will pick on him like all other kids have in his life.

Beneath : The Army of Hope Series (A post-rapture novel series)

Alexander “Zan” Hendricks is trapped on a train with ex-con JC Jackson when the train derails after the conductor is taken in the rapture. His mother is taken but in preparation, left instructions for Zan to find his drug attic brother Jessie and bring him home. Through coded messages and several journals, Zan and JC, whom he has befriended, learn the truth about the disappearances and must decide to take up the cross  and go underground or join the New Hope Army for survival.

11760079_10153540035374516_4260547915490619892_n

(Non-Fiction) The Other Side of Sexual Abuse: A journey through my history of childhood sexual and physical abuse lasting 12 years, the life-altering and potential deadly effects and my journey to freedom and forgiveness.

Do you have other works published you would like to share?

Back in 2008, I wrote my first novel “A Hope and a Future”. As a new author, there were many things I had not learned (one of which was to choose a qualified editor). I have come a long way as an author in polishing my craft.

In 2010, I published On Butterfly Faith with SparkleSoup Publishing. I have recently regained the rights for that book and will be republishing it within the next month, quite possibly with  new title.

11891192_10153583296039516_6553674898981167046_n

Who inspired you to start writing?

I have written my entire life. As a very young child, I journaled as well as consistently wrote poems and stories. Writing was therapy for me. It was my safe place.

Who is your favorite author? Why?

 

Karen Kingsbury. I love getting lost in her books. It’s like a mini-vacation in my very busy world.

 

How did you get started in writing?

I don’t remember ever NOT writing. In 5th grade, I wrote a short story and shared it with the kid sitting behind me. He begged for new chapters every day. In high school, I had several poems published in a book of young authors.

What do you find hardest about writing? What do you find easiest?

 

Hardest: Finding time. I have 3 teenagers and a 3-year-old. I run a homeschool/educational resource company from home and am very active in my church and community. Finding the necessary time to write each day can be difficult.

Easiest: Writing itself is easy for me. It’s what I love. It’s my passion. If I couldn’t write,       I don’t think I’d be able to breathe.

Do you have a quote that keeps you going?

 

“I won’t spend my life as nothing.” A Knight’s Tale

Who are your biggest supporters?

My husband, children and in-laws. They give constant encouragement and feedback.

What is the message you want people to get from your current work or WIP?

Each of my WIPs (both fiction and non-fiction) are to offer hope in a seemingly hopeless situation and world.

Do your stories come more from your own experiences or from observation of others?

 

Each of my stories have parts of my own experiences intertwined within the pages.

What would you like to share with beginning writers?

Set goals. Give your goals deadlines. Believe in yourself and never give up. If writing is what you love, then write every day. Write something, anything … as long as you’re writing. Take as many seminars as you can (there are many free online seminars) to sharpen your craft. Get involved in critique groups and find an accountability partner. NEVER GIVE UP.

In your best dream, where would you like to be? Why? This doesn’t have to be related to your writing.

I dream of traveling the US in an RV with my 3 year old as I teach her about the world. I would be able to write/ BLOG from my RV as we visited many historical places       throughout the US.

Anything you would like to share with us about you and/or your writing?

My books (my novels) often include actual memories of my very painful childhood. So while (in my husband’s words) many of my novels are dark to begin with, they end with a message of hope, redemption, grace and mercy as I have been shown in my own life.

 

Please include a blurb from you newest book. I just bought it and have started reading it. It’s a great book!

Angst of the Middle School Newbie : Vol 1 of the Philippian 4:13 Series

THUMBNAIL_IMAGE

PHILIPPIAN MACEDON has never had a single friend his whole life. Not one. Why would he? He doesn’t fit in anywhere. He’s short, nerdy and terrified of the dark.

To make matters worse, he must now brave the cold cruel world of middle school all alone. His dad is deployed to Iraq and his mom expecting a new baby. Philippian has never felt more alone and invisible.
With a birthday on April thirteen, Philippian is reminded that he can do all things through Christ who strengthens him. Follow his journey through the Philippian 4:13 series as he faces many obstacles and discovers the value of being unique. Be there as he learns to lean on the one friend that has been there all along

That sounds awesome! I have your new book in my collection and I am reading it now. Where can readers find your books and connect with you?

 

Website: http://www.MrRowsAdventures.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/KL-Dierking/806859592715609

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/KLDierking/

Links to book(s):

https://www.createspace.com/5556598

Blog: https://IAmKLDierking.com

 

Thank you so much for visiting me today! I have enjoyed having you in my blog today. I hope many people read your books and are inspired and encouraged!

 

Please attach a photo of you as well as your book cover(s)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

