Skip to content

My Guest Marie Godley Shares Her New Release!

August 21, 2015

Today I am pleased to share an interview I recently did with my friend and fellow author, Marie Godley. She has a new book that will be released tomorrow, Saturday, August 22nd! Please enjoy our visit!

 media pic

It’s so nice to have this chance to get to know more about you and your newest book, Marie! I am happy to have you here!

Please share a bit about yourself. Please tell us at least one thing that makes you unique—something you have done or can do, someplace you have lived…anything!  

Still a bit of a Northampton girl at heart, but I love living in Dorset. It was my dream to move there, especially once we’d had our first child and through determination we got here, and it’s a beautiful place to bring up a family. We live within a short distance of both the sea and the New Forest, and with the historical heart of our town, we have everything we need.

“Unique thing” is not that unique but I have a diploma and City & Guilds qualifications in Interior Design. – Other than that – there’s nothing. I am who I am.

What is your genre of choice? Why did you choose this genre?

Fantasy. I love fantasy, because you can stretch the truth. Although it still has to be believable it can be more fantastical. The images in your head don’t have to be true to everyday life.

What is your NEW book? Please give us a short synopsis.

Janalya.  Janalya is an air elemental searching for others of her kind. Their enemies are Shatara, a race of shape shifting panthers, of which Katsuo is a member. But when Janalya and Katsuo meet they connect. Can they change history and become friends?

Janalya cover

Do you have other works published you would like to share?

I’ve published some children’s books, namely The Special Christmas Bear, The Guardian of the Globe and Time Slide. And had some stories published in 2 anthologies, the proceeds of which go to charities, which are Tales of an Old Wizard and Paranormal Love.

How did you get started in writing?

It wasn’t a conscious thought. I wrote a story about a bear at Christmas. The family liked it and I thought I’d see how to get it published. It rolled along from there, and I haven’t stopped writing, although I’ve written for an older age group each time.

What do you find hardest about writing? What do you find easiest?

The hardest is getting the punctuation, grammar, etc. right especially when the thoughts are flowing and you just want to get the story down. This is what drafts and editing are for, but it’s a hard, long process. The easiest is writing, but only when it’s flowing and you know what’s going to happen next.

Do you have a quote that keeps you going?

No, but my children’s belief in me, and my determination not to give up, keeps me going.

Who are your biggest supporters?

Definitely my son and daughter. They read my work, help me with it, and tell me how good I am, when self doubt creeps in.

What is the message you want people to get from your current work or WIP?

What I would like most is for people to enjoy the story. If there’s any hidden message in it I suppose it would be one of friendship between different cultures.

Do your stories come more from your own experiences or from observation of others?

From my head mainly. But scenery and places end up in my stories, and there are probably bits of myself and others that sneak in when picturing a character.

What would you like to share with beginning writers?

Keep writing and get someone who will be honest, but kind to read your work. You need someone to be honest enough with you to say ‘this needs changing’ but you need them to do it in a kind, not mean way. Writing comes from the heart, you don’t need someone to tell you “it’s rubbish”. That doesn’t help and is hurtful.

In your best dream, where would you like to be? Why? This doesn’t have to be related to your writing.

I would like my books to be read and available – not to make money per se, but to hear that people have been reading my books and able to go into a library or bookshop and just pick one up off of the shelf – that’s my dream.

Anything you would like to share with us about you and/or your writing?

The stories I write are personal to me. I live with them a long time and put a lot of myself into them. I’d love to hear back from anyone who’s read them. You can get in touch through my website or media pages.

Thank you for having me on your blog.

Please share a blurb about this book in particular.

Janalya is an air elemental, searching for others of her kind.

Katsuo is Shatara, a shape-shifting panther.

History decrees that they are enemies, but fate seems to be handing them different roles. What is Janalya’s true destiny, and is it more complex than even she knew?

How can readers find you and your books? Please share your links!

 

Website: www.mariegodley.moonfruit.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mariegodleyauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarieGodley

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/100536610935786913639/posts

Links to book(s): http://www.amazon.co.uk/Janalya-Marie-Godley-ebook/dp/B013PQTVP0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1439819674&sr=8-1&keywords=janalya

http://www.amazon.com/Janalya-Marie-Godley-ebook/dp/B013PQTVP0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1439819733&sr=8-1&keywords=janalya

Blog: http://www.marie-mariegodleybooks.blogspot.co.uk/ 

 

Thank you so much for being my guest today, Marie! And congratulations on your new release! God bless you!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

