Skip to content

Meet (B.J.) Barbara Robinson!

April 8, 2013

This week my guest is (B.J.) Barbara Robinson. Please welcome her and check out her books!

Barbara Robinson

  1. What is your genre of choice? Why did you choose this genre?

Romantic Suspense is my choice because I love romance mixed with mystery and suspense. I grew up on Nancy Drew.

  1. What are you working on now?

I’m working on Serenity Through the Storm, the second novel in my Storms of Life Series. It’s also a romantic suspense, and readers get to hear Mark and Serenity’s story in this one. They met Mark in Calm Before the Storm. Both novels can also stand alone. There will be three novels in the series, with the last one being Calm After the Storm, to be released this fall.

  1. If you have published something, tell us about it.

I have four full-length novels published by Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc., California. In addition, I’ve also independently published shorter works, short stories, and my latest novel, Calm Before the Storm, for Amazon Kindle. The novels through Desert Breeze are available at Barnes and Noble, Sony, Kobo, and Christianbooks.com as well.

  1. Who is your favorite author? Why?

I don’t have one favorite author. I love Nicholas Sparks. He won my heart with The Notebook, Chris Fabry also won it with Dogwood, and Lynn Austin with All She Ever Wanted. I also enjoy reading Eva Marie Everson’s novels. She was my writing mentor with Christian Writers Guild. Naomi Musch is a fellow Desert Breeze author I enjoy because I love her writing style and how she writes about the great outdoors. I enjoy the settings in her novels.

  1. How did you get started writing?

My third grade teacher submitted my story about my pet dog to the local newspaper, and I’ve been writing ever since. My first college essay was also published in a local newspaper, and I won first prize for a short story I wrote in college, and it was published in the university’s literary magazine. I’ve had various poems, short stories, essays, and devotionals published over the years, twelve devotionals in one year with various publications. I have also won an award for my writing through Florida Writers Association, a trophy for first runner-up.

  1. What do you find hardest about writing? What do you find easiest?

The hardest thing about writing is to keep focused on one idea and finish one book before my creative mind bounces to another one. The easiest thing is sitting down and enjoying coffee while I write in the wee hours of the morning when the house is quiet. I’m a morning person and do my best work that way. I also enjoy penning in a spiral notebook sitting outside in the sunshine by water or outside on my back deck. The easiest thing is coming up with many creative ideas, but the hardest is being able to get them all down on paper.

  1. Do you have a quote that keeps you going? My heart is stirred by a noble theme I recite my verses for the king; my tongue is the pen of a skillful writer.

Psalm 45:1 NIV

  1. Who are your biggest supporters?

My husband, family, and FB friends have been among my biggest supporters. They’ve been very encouraging, and I’ve met so many new people through my writing and made so many new friends. That’s one of the best results. I love my readers, especially those who let me know they loved and enjoyed my books and took the time to write raving reviews. Some have literally made my day. I also have loved working with critique partners and groups.

  1. What is the message you want people to get from your current work or work-in-progress?

Jesus weathers us through the Storms of Life if we call upon Him for help.

  1. Do your stories come more from your own experiences or from observation of others?

My stories tend to come from both. I use real life experience in my writing, but I’m also an observer.

  1. Anything you would like to share with us about you and/or your writing?

My new release Serenity through the Storm will release late spring or early summer. I also have a novel titled Louisiana Sunset I hope to release this summer.

  1. In your best dream, where would you like to be? Why? This doesn’t have to be related to your writing.

I’d love to live in a lake house where I’d have a daily view of the water I love so much and be able to write reflecting upon it on a daily basis, but other than that, I’m content to be just where God has placed me and to bloom where He put me. I’m happy where I am. I love Tennessee vacations during the summer, but I’m always ready to come home again.

Is there anything else you would like to share with us? I know your dogs have a major part in your writing!

BJ Robinson Sunflower

Sunflower keeps me company as I write, and she’s a character in Last Resort, my debut Christian romantic suspense.

BJ Robinson HoniHoni is in Calm Before the Storm. She also keeps me company as I write. I love my two girls. One is a golden cocker spaniel, and one is a golden retriever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where can we find your books?

CalmBeforeTheStorm    Serenty through the storm03. BJ Robinson   

Calm After the Storm Vol III

 

 

 

 

My blog link is http://barbarajrobinson.blogspot.com where you can sign to follow my blog for an opportunity to win free ebooks and novels.

https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/barbara.robinson.773

https://www.facebook.com/#!/AuthorBJRobinson?fref=ts

http://www.amazon.com/BJ-Robinson/e/B007DNJIKU This link will take you to all of my available titles.

*      *      *      *      *      *      *       *       *       *        *       *      *       *      *       *       *       *

And for those who have been following my blog, please vote for my cover!  Barbara Robinson’s cover is also in the first contest, in the Inspirational category. You can vote for both! Thank you!

The cover for my novel Victory is in the following contests:

http://pertinentpromotions.weebly.com/christian-general-fiction-poll.html

To vote in this one, just click the title and then click the vote button. You can vote in this contest daily!

And the second contest is: http://www.authorsdb.com/book-cover-awards/christian-books-bibles/victory-308

To vote in this one, scroll down to “Image Rating” and click on it. Then click the number of stars you would like to give it!

Thank you!

8 Comments
  1. Awesome job on the blog, DeEtte. I’m so thrilled to be hear and hope to hear from readers and authors. Blessings, BJ

  2. To be here. Someone is talking to me, and I’m multitasking, sorry 🙂

  3. Nice interview! I enjoy Barbara’s story-telling style. We share a love for the outdoors! I was just thinking about how we have similar interests, only you write about it in the south, and I write about it in the north. Kind of cool. And Barb, I liked Chris Fabry’s Dogwood a lot too. I admire that you were brave enough to try some independent publishing. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m toying with the idea on one particular story outside what I normally write. Write on!

  4. Sounds like an interesting series. I, too, enjoy reading Nicholas Sparks, and really liked Chris Fabry’s Dogwood. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Naomi and Rita 🙂 we also have a love for some of the same books and authors. I love Rita’s and Naomi’s books as well. Blessings, BJ

  5. Barbara, I love your quote about your tongue being the pen of a ready writer and I also love the author, Lynn Austin! It’s clear why you’re such a great success and why each of your stories touches so many people–thank you for sharing them with us!

  6. Thank you, Valerie. Lynn Austin is a great author. I love her work. Blessings. BJ

  7. Lovely interview. Lovely dogs. And lovely answers.

Leave a Reply

