Skip to content

Dream Project Blog Tour

February 18, 2013

I was invited by my friend Cody Martin to participate in his Dream Project Blog Hop.

His interview questions are intended to help us writers to dream big. His instructions?

Writing is largely solitary, and sometimes a lonely endeavor. Sure, you talk to friends, experts for research, discuss what works and what doesn’t with your editor, and bounce ideas off of fellow writers. But in the end it’s one person pounding the keyboard or twirling the pencil. But what if it didn’t have to be completely alone? Who would YOU work with if you could work with anyone on your favorite project?

Writers dream. Now it’s time to dream BIG.

You have the opportunity to hire anybody as your cover artist. If you write children’s books or books that are heavily illustrated, who would you get for the interior artwork?

I would definitely choose my son, Christopher Anderton. He did my cover for Victory, and he is a web/graphic designer for Columbia University. He understands how I think and what I like, and he “knows his stuff” to make it a great cover.

Who would you co-write your next novel with? What genre? Why?


If the person didn’t have to still be alive, I would choose to write with either CS Lewis or JRR Tolkein. Their writing is some of my favorite! But since I have to pick someone who is living, I would like to write with my long time friend Jan Scott. She is just starting to write now, but we have the same values and we could be a good team. We would write Christian fiction or Inspirational. With our combined experiences, we could write a great story!


Your publisher wants to do an audiobook version of your novel and they’re not sparing any expense. Who do you think can narrate your masterpiece?

My first choice would be Christopher Lee. I love the power in his voice!

Christopher Lee

My second choice would be Bruce Marchiano (although he would be my first choice for playing my protagonist—as I explain below).

They’re really going all out! Your novel is getting a full soundtrack. Who should compose it? If your novel uses a lot of songs, list your compilation here.

I would love for John Williams to compose for it! I love his music (he wrote the Olympic theme, the Superman Main Title theme, themes from Schindler’s List, The Empire Strikes Back, Raiders of the Lost Ark march, among other well known music). And as a side note, he is the son of Esther Williams, the famous swimmer of the 1940s and 50s!

In addition, I would add “Who You Are” by Unspoken, “Christ Is Risen” by Matt Maher,“Whom Shall I Fear” by Chris Tomlin, “I Will Lift My Eyes” by Bebo Norman, “There Will Be a Day” by Jeremy Camp, “Beautiful” by MercyMe, “Untitled Hymn (Come to Jesus)” by Chris Rice, and “Redeemed” by Big Daddy Weave in specific scenes.

I guess I would only need John Williams to write a theme, but what a grand theme it would be!
John Williams 


Congratulations! Your novel is being turned into a major motion picture. As the creator of the original work, you get to pick the director.

Peter Jackson. I love The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, especially with the sfx! It would be very interesting to see what he did with certain scenes in my book! I think he would be able to match what I saw in my head when I wrote it!

The director has some ideas on who to cast, but you get to cast one character. What role/character is it and who portrays them?

The character I would pick is my protagonist, known as The Stranger throughout most of Victory. I would chose my friend Bruce Marchiano to play him. Bruce is best known for his portrayal of Jesus in The Gospel According to Matthew. Before that, he had roles in Columbo, Murder, She Wrote, and L.A. Law.

Bruce Marchiano bruce marchiano Jesus standing

If Bruce couldn’t do it, Viggo Mortensen would be my second choice.

viggo mortensenviggo mortensen as aragorn

You’ve been hired to write a novel based on a preexisting character or franchise from another medium. Which character or franchise is it?

They are characters most people probably wouldn’t remember without a mention: Jeremy and Jemima Potts from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. I realize they are two characters, but I think it would be fun to write about them as young adults with the influence their inventor father had on their lives and what direction(s) their lives had taken.

It’s the anniversary of your favorite literary character’s debut. You’ve been hired (yay, work!) to write an anniversary novel. Who is the literary character?

Elizabeth Bennet from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. She is a woman who is not afraid to be herself.

Thanks for interviewing me, Cody! It’s been fun!

Links to my facebook page and amazon.com links are here!

My author page: www.facebook.com/DeEtteBecksteadAuthor

Victory coverVictory: http://amzn.com/B00AJ9QEKM

The Christmas VisitorsThe Christmas Visitors:http://amzn.com/B00ACNOXOY

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

