Skip to content

New Year Blog Tour-Eighth Stop-Allison Bruning

February 17, 2013

Just a few stops left on this blog tour! This time my guest is Allison Bruning. I hope you enjoy her interview! Welcome, Allison!

Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 10.10.25 AM

  1. What is your genre of choice? Why did you choose this genre?

I prefer to write historical fiction with strong female leads. I am fascinated by history and other cultures. History can be so biased because the culture that has written history often times writes it from their point of view. That’s why we are missing the women’s side of the historical record. I want my readers to see history through the eyes of those who weren’t allowed to record their stories.

  1. What are you working on now?

I have several projects in the works. My first one is a novel called Bailey’s Revenge and is book one of the series “Gaelic Twist of Fate.” Bailey’s Revenge takes place in 1738 Ireland. It follows Kathleen McGillpatrick as she must either choose to honor her Irish Catholic family or betray them for the English Anglican man who has stolen her heart.

The other novel I’m working on is sort of different for my readers. Passions Awakening is an erotica fantasy with dragons, magic and romance. I started writing it last summer and have periodically been working on it. Passions Awakening follows the story of two lovers who have never met but are telepathically connected through the Dragon Crown of Power, Princess Iona and the Dragon Lord Rion. In order to save his world and his sanity, Rion must find a way to being Iona to his palace. There’s only one problem. She is no longer in her castle and he has no clue as to where she could be.

My third project is a screenplay that I am writing for my thesis titled Field of Grace. Field of Grace takes place in 1919 Marion County, Ohio. A mysterious illness has overcome Ida Mae McIntyre’s family and friends at a church picnic. She, along with her fiancée, uncle and a new friend, must overcome the greedy farmer who poisoned them and wants her dead. I’m planning to write the novel after I have finished the writing the film.

  1. If you have published something, tell us about it.

I have three books published so far. My first two was called Calico and took place in Kentucky during the middle of the 18th century. The first and second editions are no longer available. I am redoing the book into a series. Bailey’s Revenge is the story of Calico’s grandmother in Ireland. I am planning to do several series with this family. The first series will be about Calico’s grandmother. The second about her mother, Anne. The third series will be hers. The forth, her daughter’s and the last, her granddaughter. My readers will experience the colonization of the United States through a woman’s eyes. Also since Calico married a Shawnee war chief the story will shift from a European view to a Native American one.

My third book is a collection of historical essays and inspirational poems that I have written throughout my lifetime. Anyone who has visited my blog and liked my postings will love Reflections: Poems and Essay. One of the essays in my book asks the reader to rethink about what they know concerning the death of John Wilkes Booth. I had originally written the essay in High School for a project. I worked closely with Nate Orlowek, who is considered an expert on John Wilkes Booth’s death. I was excited about placing this essay into the collection because I was able to reconnect with Nate after twenty years. Nate Orlowek was very inspirational in my young writing career in that he challenged me to dig deeper for the truth and never stop asking questions. I dedicated Reflections to him.

  1. Who is your favorite author in your genre? Why?

Margaret George. She inspires me to tell my stories through the eyes of those who are not heard. I admire Margaret George’s writing style because she is able to draw her readers into the world of her characters effortlessly. The characters are so believable you think that you are living the story with them.

  1. How did you get started writing?

I started writing at a very early age, Kindergarten. One day I came home form school and told my grandmother one of the stories I had made up in class. She saw the potential in me. The next day, I went to her house and found that she had bought me paper, pens, crayons, construction paper and other art supplies. She told me she wanted me to write her a story then read it to her. Grandma nurtured my writing for years. By the time I was in High School I was writing poems, short stories and had begun to explore screenwriting. I loved it. She kept encouraging until she died a few years ago.

  1. Do you have a quote that keeps you going?

Keep following your dreams and never let them go.

  1. What is the message you want people to get from your current work or work-in-progress?

I hope people are inspired by the poems in Reflections. I also hope that it urges my readers to think about all points of view when hearing about a historical occurrence. We can learn a lot of wisdom from our ancestors.

  1. Do your stories come more from your own experiences or from observation of others?

I think a little of both and from my imagination. I’m always asking the what if question when learning about something that has occurred.

  1. Anything you would like to share with us about you and/or your writing?

I’m very passionate about education and reading. I don’t believe anyone should be denied an education or an outlet for their creativity.

  1. In your best dream, where would you like to be? This doesn’t have to be related to your writing.

Ireland or Germany.

Please visit these links to Allison’s writings!

Amazon author page: http://amzn.com/e/B0079SK9LQ

Blog: http://allisonbruning.blogspot.com/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

