Skip to content

New Year Blog Tour-Seventh Stop-Brian Ward

February 9, 2013

My guest on the seventh stop of my New Year Blog Tour is Brian Ward. Welcome, Brian! His enthusiasm for writing is admirable! I enjoyed interviewing you!Brian Ward

First, I would like to express my thanks. I am honored that chose me to partake in your blog tour. Since I am not a published author as of yet, I was completely surprised when you approached me about the subject.

What is my genre of choice? Well do I really have to pick just one? I love all genres.

I try to imagine myself as the reader. If I am reading a book, I do not want to be lost or bored by the time, I finish the first three pages. I love mystery, romance, western, etc…

The good thing is, as most authors only stick to one subject, I feel if I am capable, then why limit what I give to my readers. Before you ask, I will tell you that yes, I am very talented, however, it might be raw talent. I still have the imagination to write in all genres.

What am I working on now? Well, I have three books that I am working on. A collection of poems that I started writing when I was in my preteen years. A Christian fictional novel boasting a man who came from nothing and rose quickly in the New York metro area to only have it all ripped away. He eventually finds faith in God and all things are restored. Thirdly but definitely not last. My main project is a religious devotional. I say devotional lightly because it is not intended for a daily diet. I want my readers to be able to access any one thing that may be troubling them. It will have personal references by the if, it was not for God’s hold on my life none of this would be possible.

If you have published something, tell us about it. Unfortunately, I have not published anything yet. That is not to say that I have not thought about before now. Ever since I started writing, my family and friends have begged me to publish. I just did not think I was good enough.

My favorite author–now that is a tough one. I would have to say that Ralph Compton is my all-time favorite. Even though he wrote western. Oh, and I must say that my inspiration for writing not only comes from above but William Shakespeare was a big influence.

How did I start writing? Well, like most, I was given a piece of paper and told to write. I was given a subject and it just flowed out. I would have to thank my Fifth grade teacher for that. Because of her I found my natural talents and won several school awards.

Do I have a quote that keeps me going? Yes I do. To quote Shakespeare in hamlet. To be or not to be.

To me this is the ultimate “get off your butt and work” quotation.

What is the message I want people to receive from my writing? Well it is simple. I am a believer in Christ as our Savior. I want others to see that if you pray and push yourself you can accomplish anything. I want them to know it is not me writing it is him writing through me.

Where do my stories come from? As I said, I have a great imagination. Most people do not let their imagination be active. Well, mine is active 24/7. Just like my job. I take in everything going on around me. I daydream a lot, too. I never know when something is going to pop up. Usually when this happens

I cannot quit thinking about it until I write it down.

Anything I would like to share about myself. Where should I begin? Now that is a subject all on its own. I am 33, happily married, and father of 3 beautiful kids and 1 precious granddaughter.

I live in Odessa, TX. I have driven all over the United States. Many of my adult years have been spent behind the wheel of 18-wheelers. I love who I am and I love what I do. I hope that through my writing, my ministry will take off. My life begins with God, my family, my upcoming ministry and finally, my future fans. To tell you the truth, I love to write. In addition, if I gave my writing away free I would be happy just knowing it was out there. I am not out to make a fortune. I just want to have my talent recognized.

In my best dream, where do I want to be? Well, I want to be the pastor and leader of my own church.

I would want to continue writing until I cannot. It is, and will always be, my passion.

brianward79@facebook.com

www.brianward79.com

Twitter @brianward79

inchristname7912@gmail.com

One Comment
  1. Nice interview, DeEtte.
    Thanks for sharing a little about yourself, Brian. I enjoyed reading about your passion for writing. I particularly liked this line, “My life begins with God, my family, my upcoming ministry and finally, my future fans.” With that being the way you view life, I can’t imagine you doing anything less than succeeding in all you set out to do.

Leave a Reply

