Skip to content

First Award! Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

February 1, 2013

very-inspirational-blogger

I was honored when my good friend and fellow author Joss Landry informed me she was nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger award! I was so blessed! Her book is available as a  Kindle edition
and also available in
Print.

Of course, there are RULES for accepting the nomination:

    1.  Display the award on my Blog.
2.  Link back to the person who nominated me.
3.  State seven things about myself.
4.  Nominate other bloggers for this award  and link to them.
5.  Notify these bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

Here are seven questions that will help define who I am, and what I do best.

Seven things about me….

  1. I was born and raised in Utah, but I am not LDS, nor am I a skier. I do love my Utah mountains and I miss them since I came to New England.
  2. I am mom to six adult children, including a set of twins, and grandmother to twelve.
  3. I love math and science! When I was teaching at a Christian school, I developed a curriculum for K-6 called Practical Science which taught kids to see math and science as common friends, not monstrous enemies! The kids loved it as we “played” with everyday items!
  4. I was in Girl Scouts for 35 years, both as a girl and adult. I was a leader of many troops, and a trainer. I spent 7 years as a camp counselor in Utah, Pennsylvania and Virginia. I also taught winter survival.
  5. My first novel, Victory, was published in 2012, and began as a NaNoWriMo project in 2007.
  6. I have worked in pet rescue for years and have been privileged to be adopted by some of the most wonderful and loving critters I have ever known.
  7. I have worked for most of my life with people with disabilities. I was manager of a group home for several years, as well as running camps for girls with disabilities at Girl Scout camp.

I would like to take this opportunity to nominate some of my friends who are bloggers that I feel have made a positive impact on my life. I hope that you will go visit their blogs and leave a comment. In alphabetical order, they are:

Allison Bruning  

Terri Renshaw Dryden

Linda Lee Greene

Daniel Neff http://danielneff.blogspot.com 

Victory cover

The Christmas Visitors


From → Awards!

15 Comments
  1. Congrats on your award! 🙂

  2. Congratulations DeEtte 🙂
    Sent from my BlackBerry® powered by Virgin Mobile.

  3. Great blog, DeEtte, and so impressed by your six children. I had four and thought that was a lot. Your book is definitely on my reading curriculum. Cheers and great blog

    • Thank you, Joss! I have always loved children and it was rare that there were only six at our house! I hope you enjoy my book!

  4. I loved your 7 things about you. 🙂

  5. That’s a blessing. Congrats!

  6. Congratulations on the award, and lovely to read that you like math and science–so do I. It’s so rewarding when kids realize they’re fun.

  7. Joyce Rosenfield permalink

    Congrats, DeEtte and well done! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Inspiring Minds Want to Know | quotidiandose

Leave a Reply

