Skip to content

New Year Blog Tour-Second Stop-Rachel Rossano

January 18, 2013

Welcome back to the blog tour! Our second stop is with Rachel Rossano. While reading her interview questions, I found out we have something in common besides writing. She homeschools her three kids! I homeschooled my two youngest through high school. I love these tours because I get a chance to find out things about my fellow writers I didn’t know before!

Thank you for joining me on this tour, Rachel!

Profile2A(1)

 

  1. What is your genre of choice? Why did you choose this genre?

    I write mostly clean or inspirational fantasy that has no magic and a historical feel. However, I also write science fiction. Almost all of my books have a romantic relationship between the lead characters.

    I chose fantasy because I like writing in a world of my own construction. Being able to create rules, cultures, and characters as I need them to facilitate the story is fun and challenging. If you create the rules, you need to be sure to follow them.

    Science fiction became a recent addition to my skill set when I wrote a short story a few years ago and received a lot of requests for more of the story. Apparently years of watching Star Wars, Star Trek, Stargate SG-1, and Stargate Atlantis has come to fruition.

  2. What are you working on now?

    My current major project is a epic science fiction novel prequel to my science fiction short story, Exchange. Interplanetary war, a relationship across a cultural divide, politics on a cosmic scale, and espionage all promise to make this an exciting book.

    I am also working on two side projects. One is a serialized regency short story tentatively titled Isbet’s Disgrace. A gentlewoman fallen on hard times works as a maid-of-all-work at a boarding house. She stumbles into the midst of an intrigue when one gentleman boarder is shot by another. Both men try to convince her they are the one in the right. She must discover the truth before someone ends up hung for treason.

    The other smaller project is connected with a novel coming out later this year, Duty. It is a short story that happens years before the novel and explains the significance of a specific sword that appears in the climax and gives character insight into one of the secondary characters. The short story is currently titled The Sword of Korma Monroe. Writing isn’t going well right now, so I am not sure how it is going to turn out.

  3. If you have published something, tell us about it.

    The Mercenary’s Marriage is a novella set in a non-magic, fantasy world. Darius has spent most of his life fighting as a mercenary. He claims a young woman as his loot after a successful siege. Brice is a slave with a traumatic past and a fear of all men, especially strong men. With patience and gentleness, the rough mercenary must earn his new wife’s trust and love.

    The Crown of Anavrea (Theodoric Saga Book One), a novella, is a sweet love story between a runaway slave and a wanted man. Together they must deal with both of their pasts before securing their future.

    Exchange is a romantic, science fiction short story set far in the future. Isolated on a distant planet, she is incarcerated for a crime she doesn’t recall. She doesn’t even remember her name. Then he arrives. Claiming to hold the answers burned daily from her brain, he offers her a way out. But at what cost?

    Word and Deed is a historical short story loosely based in medieval times. Verity’s father dies unexpectedly. She believes her half-brother, Verdon, killed him. Verdon arranges for her to marry a strange man with a frightening reputation. But whether or not her brother intends to let her live long enough to marry grows less likely as the story progresses.

  4. Who is your favorite author in your genre? Why?

    Oh, that is a tricky question. I don’t read much in my own genre. Yes, that is an awful confession to make. I know I am supposed to read a lot of the books that are similar to mine to know the market. Instead, I spend a lot of time reading historical novels (Sarah M. Eden, Donna Hatch, Joyce DiPastena), some fantasy novels (Diana Wynne Jones, Patricia C. Wrede), and science fiction (Kathy Tyers, Orson Scott Card). Just straight history is part of my reading diet as well.

  5. How did you get started writing?

    My first foray into writing was in my pre-teens/teens. I didn’t take it up seriously until I was in college and pursuing an accounting degree. I published my first novella a year or so after graduating with my degree. I have been writing ever since.

  6. Do you have a quote that keeps you going?

    “Write what you love.” I don’t remember who said it, but it pretty much sums up a lot of my process of writing. I write what interests me and engages me.

  7. What is the message you want people to get from your current work or work-in-progress?

    I haven’t gotten to that part of the process on Diaspora (the science fiction novel). I suspect it is going to be a message of forgiveness. If we do not forgive, the pain festers and spreads. We shall see though. Stories have a tendency to surprise me.

  8. Do your stories come more from your own experiences or from observation of others?

    Both. I draw on my own experience for the emotions that come with some life events. I also am fascinated about how others work, think, feel, and make decisions. I try to write a variety of characters that reflect many different kinds of personalities. Those parts of my writing come from observing others.

  9. Anything you would like to share with us about you and/or your writing?

    I have two books coming out this year, but I don’t know when the release dates are yet.

    Wren – A female bounty hunter in a medieval fantasy land seeks shelter for the winter among a band of semi-outlaws and gets much more than a roof over her head in the bargain.

    Duty – Brielle’s cousin and only living male relative married her off to a stranger. This same cousin gets involved in an elaborate plot to usurp the new king. Brielle must find a way to forge a marriage while proving herself innocent of her cousin’s treason. Can a marriage of duty survive treason?

  10. In your best dream, where would you like to be? This doesn’t have to be related to your writing.

    I am very content where I am now, happily married, homeschooling my three children, writing and publishing in the spaces between. Though I would love to have more time to spend with my hubby and on my reading and writing, I wouldn’t cut into any of the other things filling my time. I guess I would wish for more hours in a day and more energy to fill them with what I want. But we all know that isn’t going to happen. 😉

    Writing-wise, I would to have more readers, but that is something that will come with time, hard work, and grace.

 

 

Blog ~ http://rachel-rossano.blogspot.com/
Website ~ http://anavrea.webs.com/
Twitter ~ http://twitter.com/@RachelRossano
Facebook ~ http://www.facebook.com/RachelRossanoRambles
YouTube ~ http://www.youtube.com/anavrea

 

 

 

3 Comments
  1. Thank you, DeEtte! 🙂

Leave a Reply

