Skip to content

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

November 28, 2012

I’d like to thank Kim Emerson of http://masterkoda.com/category/master-koda-blog-tourfor tagging me in the Next Big Thing Blog tour.

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop with DeEtte Beckstead, author of Victory.

Released November 26, 2012

What is the working title of your book?                 

Victory. It’s short and works well with “coming soon to a Kindle near you.”

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It actually developed as I was writing the story. I started it as my first NaNoWriMo project, not having a plan at all.

What genre does your book fall under?        

Christian fiction, Paranormal. It takes place in the present time.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?    

The person I would choose to play The Stranger is Bruce Marchiano, the actor who played Jesus in The Gospel of Matthew. Before he played Jesus, he had roles in Murder, She Wrote, L.A.Law, and Days of Our Lives. Robert Redford would make a good Guest. I would find a little girl who looks like Shannen Doherty did when she played Jenny Wilder in Little House on the Prairie.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Two visitors come to town, one with fear and control, and the other comes with faith; and an eight year old girl holds the key in this story of faith and freedom.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?      

Victory will be published by Master Koda Select Publishing (MKSP). It’s due out early December 2012, just in time for Christmas reading!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?      

The first manuscript was my NaNo 2007 project, and took 30 days. I let it sit on my computer till January of 2012. That was when I really started working on it to get it ready for publishing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?  

It is a bit like Frank Perreti’s This Present Darkness, but only a bit.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?                                           

In the beginning, it was my sons who convinced me to write. They had both done NaNo, and told me I should try it. When I started, I decided to start with a description of the setting. I used the small town of Blackfoot, Idaho as a model. I lived there with my youngest daughter for three years. I loved the small town atmosphere there. The actual story was inspired by the Lord. It is a gift from Him that I am privileged to share with others.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?    

I have a short story out: The Christmas Visitors. It’s about a Christmas Eve blizzard and a paranormal experience that changes a young couples lives. The first chapter of my novel Victory is included in it. Victory, is scheduled to be released the first part of December 2012. It is the story of a small town whose people cherish faith and freedom. They are friendly and helpful to each other in spite of personal differences. But something happens when a man comes to the town and slowly takes away the freedoms the people have loved but taken for granted.

The characters have agreed to let me share a short excerpt. They don’t want me to reveal too much!

“Cocoa’s almost ready! You like marshmallows?”

“Uh, yeah, I guess,” was the shy reply. The truth was, she hadn’t had marshmallows since before her parents died, and she couldn’t even remember what they tasted like.

Brown Eyes sat down on a cushioned chair at the shiny dining table. She still felt a bit awkward in such surroundings. What if she spilled or something? At Shirley’s she would receive a hard thump on her head at least, for even the smallest spill.

As if reading her thoughts, Mrs. Goodheart said, “Don’t worry, child. This house has survived many children and a great many spills. Enjoy yourself! You are most welcome here!”

At that moment, a steaming cup of the most delicious smelling cocoa appeared in front of her, topped with foamy white marshmallows. Brown Eyes was delighted with the red and white candy cane sticking out of the top of the cup. She hadn’t seen a candy cane used like that before. In fact, since she had come to Victory, she had only had a couple candy canes, and they had been given to her by the room mothers at her school. She couldn’t remember even seeing any in the store this year at all.  She held the cup with both hands, trying to absorb as much of the love as well as the warmth that came from that cup. It felt so good on her cold hands.

“Ooooh! Where did you get it?” she said as she pointed to the candy cane.

“I had a friend in Red Grass send them to me. I know many people outside of Victory, too, you know.” Mrs. Goodheart smiled warmly at the surprised child.

* * * * * Next to join the Hop are:

Linda Lee Greene   ingoodcompanyohio.blogspot.com

Kymber Lee   http://authorkymberlee.wordpress.com

Terri Renshaw Dryden   http://tdryden1.wordpress.com

Jenna Kay Pridgen   seersociety.com

From → Blog Hop, Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

